This is the "Welcome" page of the "University Archives" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

University Archives  

The University Archives documents and preserves the history of Concordia University Irvine.
Last Updated: Dec 4, 2013 URL: http://cui.libguides.com/universityarchives Print Guide RSS Updates

Welcome Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

History of Concordia University

Corner of Culver & Campus

The story of Concordia University dates back to the mid-1950s when initial planning began.  An extensive search for the "perfect" site led to Irvine, California.  Construction of the campus began in 1975, and in 1976 classes were held for the first time at Christ College Irvine, the original name of the institution.  

From a single building and thirty-six students, the school has grown to over 20 buildings and an annual head count of more than 3,000 students.  

In February 1993, the Board of Regents of Christ College Irvine, responding to a decision by The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod to incorporate its ten colleges and universities into the Concordia University System, voted to change the name of Christ College Irvine to Concordia University.  

This Concordia University System, along with two seminaries and over 108 high schools and 986 elementary schools of The Lutheran Church-Missouri Synod, comprises the second largest church-related school system in the United States.  

Concordia's History

What are some significant dates from Concordia's History?

 

WELCOME to the University Archives!

Concordia University Irvine Archives is the official repository for the University’s valuable historical records, documents, publications, photographs, multimedia and other archival materials related to Christ College Irvine and Concordia University Irvine.  

The role of the University Archives is to collect, manage, and preserve University records of enduring value and make them available for use by the Concordia University Irvine community.  If you want to research facts, people or places connected to the University, the Archives is the place to start.  

 

Historical Photo Slideshow

 

What to Expect

Welcome to the University Archives.  The facility is open to provide the Concordia University community access to the school's culture and history.  In order to provide you with quality service, we have established some rules of use for the archives.  The rules of use and visitor registration forms are located below.  You can look over the rules now if you wish. When you make your appointment and visit the archives, you will begin by reading and signing the forms.  

University Archivist

Profile Image
Laura Guzman
Contact Info
949-214-3097
Concordia University Library
Main Floor, Room 114B
Send Email
 

Plan Your Visit

Hours and Appointments

The University Archives is open to the Concordia University Irvine community on the following days:

Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday

8:30am to 5:00pm

Appointments to use the materials are preferred to ensure that the materials are available to you when you arrive. 

Request an appointment with Laura Guzman, Assistant Librarian/Archivist, by using the contact information listed above. 

Location

The Archives room is located on the main floor behind the checkout desk in room 114B.  

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip